Agostino Pierro, OBE, MD, FRCS (Engl), FRCS (Ed), FAAP

Division of General and Thoracic Surgery – The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids)

Senior Associate Scientist – Translational Medicine, The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids)

Professor, Department of Surgery University of Toronto

Professor, Department of Physiology University of Toronto

Full Member, Graduate Faculty, Institute of Medical Science (IMS), Faculty of Medicine – University of Toronto

Editor-in-Chief – Pediatric Surgery International (PSI)

Chairman Research Committee of the American Pediatric Surgical Association (APSA)

Chairman Evidence and Guidelines Committee of the European Paediatric Surgeons’ Association (EUPSA)

Dr. Pierro joined SickKids in May 2013, from Great Ormond Street Hospital in the UK, where he was Nuffield Professor of Paediatric Surgery and Head of Surgery at the University College London Institute of Child Health. Dr. Pierro’s productivity has been of outstanding quantity and quality, with a career total of 410 peer reviewed articles (total citations 8697; h-index 48), 44 chapters and 2 books. Since 2013, he has published 138 manuscripts.

At present, Dr. Pierro’s laboratory includes 15 researchers including 7 females and research fellows from various backgrounds and countries such as Canada, China, Thailand, Japan, The Netherlands, Italy and the United Kingdom. The lab has attracted international research fellows, funded from their Universities (17 in last 6 years), who moved to Canada to work in Dr. Pierro’s research laboratory.

Current members

Carol Lee, M.Sc.

Lab Manager

Dr. Peter Bo Li, PhD

Research Associate

Dorothy Lee, M.Sc. Candidate

Graduate Student

Niloofar Ganji, M.Sc. Candidate

Graduate Student

George Biouss, M.Sc. Candidate

Graduate Student

Dr. Mashriq Alganabi, MD

Research Fellow

Dr. Sinobol Chuslip, MD

Research Fellow

Dr. Masaya Yamoto, MD

Research Fellow

Dr. Yuta Yazaki, MD

Research Fellow

Rachel Filler, B.Sc.

Assistant Research Technologist

Past members

Research Fellows

Dr. Maarten Janssen Lok
Dr. Haitao Zhu
Dr. Edoardo Bindi
Dr. Joshua O’Connell
Dr. Zhen Zhang
Dr. Hiromu Miyake
Dr. Shogo Seo
Dr. Yong Chen
Dr. Yuhki Koike
Dr. Qi Li
Dr. Shigang Cheng
Dr. Elke Zani-Ruttenstock
Dr. Augusto Zani

Undergraduate/Graduate Students

Ethan Lau
Nassim Farhat
Andrea Zito
Adam Minich
Richard Wu
Michael Maalouf
Steven Botts
Manvi Bhalla
Elger Baraku
Tali Filler
Forouhideh Peyvandi
Ziyi Yvette Zhang
Zechariah Martin
Daniel Recine
Victoria Sattarova

Research Technicians

Marrissa Cadete
Alison Hock

Exchange Students

Jia Liu
Francesca Nascimben
Kristen Bortolin
Fang Zhou Yu
Xinpei Miller Li
Raffaello Bonacchi